Tennessee residents are often confused about whether or not CBD is legal in the state. CBD, including CBD oil, is legal in Tennessee, provided it is sourced from hemp. You can purchase hemp-derived CBD in the state and use it legally. The federal government has legalized hemp, including all products derived from the plant. This makes hemp-derived CBD legal according to Federal Law.
Although hemp-derived CBD is legal in Tennessee, recreational marijuana is not. The state prohibits the sale, consumption, and handling of recreational marijuana. Any cannabis product that is not derived from CBD and not medically approved is illegal in the state of Tennessee.
Possession may attract a fine of about $250 and a year of jail time. Subsequent offenses are considered misdemeanors but may attract a fine of $500 and one year in jail. On the other hand, the sale and trafficking of marijuana in Tennessee are considered a felony. The amount of marijuana trafficked determines the fine and jail term for the offense.
Prior to 2016, law enforcement officers could fine anyone in possession of marijuana in Memphis or Nashville up to maximum of $2,500. However, the state has since decriminalized the possession of minimal quantities of cannabis.
Medical marijuana laws in Tennessee are not very clear; they are contradictory in some cases. The 2016 Senate Bill 2125 excludes all CBD products with THC content lower than .6 percent from the definition of medical marijuana. This bill legalized industrial hemp for specific applications.
In the same year, House Bill 2144 legalized medical CBD possession and use provided its THC content does not exceed .9 percent. In addition, the holder must have a legal order or be diagnosed with epilepsy.
Tennessee laws allow individuals with epilepsy to possess and use specific quantities of cannabis or marijuana. The cannabis products that qualifying individuals may use should not contain more than .9 cannabis.
The first law to be passed focusing solely on CBD use and possession in Tennessee was Senate Bill 2531 in 2014. This law required university-affiliated clinics in the state such as Tennessee Tech to supervise studies on cannabis oils. However, the law's two requirements were impractical considering the provisions of Federal Law regarding marijuana possession and use.
In 2015, Senate Bill 280 was passed, which allowed individuals who obtained CBD out of state to use it in Tennessee, provided they have a valid order or recommendation from the other state. This law was modified in 2016, allowing specific individuals to possess and use CBD products provided they contain less than .9 percent THC. Qualifying individuals must prove that they or their immediate family member have been diagnosed with seizures or epilepsy by a licensed medical practitioner in Tennessee. In addition, the CBD products must be labeled appropriately, showing they have less than .9 percent THC.
At Good Stuff Dispensary, we take our time to help you find the right CBD product for you. We are a fully licensed and certified dispensary with headquarters in Reading, PA, and focused on offering safe and quality CBD products with exceptional customer service. Our products are made in hygienic, FDA-approved facilities.
Please consult our team to determine the best CBD hemp oil for your needs. You may also visit our website to place an order or learn which forms of cannabis are legal in Tennessee.
Disclaimer:The statements made regarding these products have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The efficacy of these products has not been confirmed by FDA-approved research. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. All information presented here is not meant as a substitute for or alternative to information from health care practitioners. Please consult your health care professional about potential interactions or other possible complications before using any product. The Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act require this notice.